• About Me

    Always alone but not always lonely
    Always flying but not equipped with wings to fly further
    Always enjoy photography but not being photographed

Odbo Outlet in Seoul

Now that I am working and living in Seoul, I have often been requested to bring back certain Korean-made products when I have the chance to go back home.

Recently, my friends sent me ‘orders’ for Odbo skin care products. They had been brought to buy this brand of products when they came to Seoul for a holiday on tour package. One of the friends told me that it can be found in Faceshop but it is under the Odbo branding.

When I tried to look around in Faceshop outlets, I cannot find this brand at all.                                                                                                                                               When I tried to check with my Korean friends, no one knows of this brand at all.

When I tried to search on the Internet, I cannot find any info on its home page. Even the Korea search engine – Naver failed to turn up any info on this brand.

Being the stubborn person that I am, I refused to give up the challenge to locate this mysterious outlet selling this mysterious brand. After much searching on the web, I managed to find the address of this place and coupled with the help from my Korean colleague, I managed to find the directions to this place and accomplished my mission! :)

While going around my search on the web, I have been reading some mixed reviews on the web (mainly from Singaporeans) on Odbo. As someone who has been staying here for a while, I believe I can clarify some of the misleading information for the benefits of others who have some doubts:

1. This is a duty free outlet who happens to sell Faceshop products. It cannot be a Faceshop outlet when it sells other products and other brands in the same premise. Anyway, the signboard already states very clearly that it is a duty free outlet, aka meant for tourists.

  

2. It might be a Korean brand but it is not definitely known to the Korean customers. It is most probably produced and packaged for the tourist market.

3. You can only find Odbo in this one and only DFS outlet and definitely not in any other Faceshop outlets.

Since I am never a fan of products that are specially designed/manufacturered/packaged for the tourist market, I believe I will just remain as the “trader” for Odbo :)

For the benefits of those who are interested to go there, I have attached a simple map below. The nearest subway station is Mapo-gu Office on Line 6 and it takes about 15 to 25 mins to walk from the subway station.

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. not sure if this is the one that I have been too … but the FaceShop stuff are really cheap here !!

    Reply
  2. Reen

     /  February 14, 2012

    Hi, just wanna say i agree with your ‘findings’. Just came back from Korea last week. Before I went, a lot of people asked me to help them get the ODBO products because it was supposedly to be a premium line of Face Shop which is not being exported out of the country (dunno where they heard this from). When my tour guide brought my gp to this shop, we were being briefed by the salesperson saying that Korean gers are beautiful becoz they used this product bla bla bla. But when I checked with my Korean friends, none of them are aware of this brand and I never see this being ranged in any of the Face Shop I visited -_-” Guess it’s just a marketing strategy to convince us tourist afterall but well … as long as everyone are happy with the result ;)

    Reply
  3. BL

     /  April 9, 2012

    Hi, thanks for the directions to the outlet! I went there today following your instructions and managed to get there with no problem. I was told by the salesperson that it’s nearer to Hongdae (Hongik university station line 2). Fyi, on the way back, I took a bus no. 7016 (on the right of the outlet) at a cost of 1150 won, and in a few stops, it gotten me to Hongik subway station.

    Reply
  4. Alicia

     /  May 3, 2012

    Hi any idea what’s the business hours like?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

